I am a creative person. I like thinking. Thinking is awesome.
When I was working at the Bananaland there wasn't always down time, but sometimes you could zone out and fold things, or zone out and size things (or zone out and zone out). If there were no customers you could use your brain as you pleased.
When I was doing ESL, I had to think on my feet a lot of the time. Some students would say weird stuff and some were a struggle to deal with, so imagination was key. Especially with the kids. And even when we did busywork I could zone out and just think.
It was kind of nice.
My current job hasn't really started yet. It requires a long training period, and then we got interrupted to train for something else before finishing our other thing. We still have a couple of weeks left. And already I'm thinking I just don't want to continue. The work isn't that difficult, which is fine, but it's also nearly nine hours of sitting in a chair and performing the kind of mindless tasks that both require very little thought but also give you no leeway to change the channel on your brain.
Imagine if your job were something like reading the phone book to people over the phone.
No room for creativity, and you have to focus on what you're doing or else you'll mess up. And the content isn't even something you can picture in your head. It's the phone book.
(Note: this is not my actual job.)
The pay is pretty good, but I keep having to ask myself if the pay is worth it to have no life, no time for hobbies, and to be frustrated and bored at work. I'm thinking that the answer is "no." But first I need to secure another job that will pay the bills. And that's the hard part.
No comments:
Post a Comment