Saturday, September 21, 2013

No, Seriously ...

Don't Be That Guy.

I don't get how hard it is to not act like a 4-year-old with ADD, apparently.

The guy at work is trying to break the bounds of annoyitude, and I'm at work so I can't cause a scene.  First it was walking up to me, sitting right in front of me, and shaking the table when I wouldn't acknowledge him.  Next it was jamming his finger in my notebook and tapping it.

My brother asked me to translate some Robotech article for him, and since I really don't have time to do anything, I took it to work.  I printed out the pages, took my iPad and notebook, and worked on it before training started.

So this guy walks up, seeeeeees that I'm busy with this stuff, and starts predictably with, "What are you doing?"  The million questions have begun.

He sits down in front of me, as per usual, which is just NOT enough distance in my opinion.  Then he reaches across the table, picks up the pages I've printed, and starts to look them over.  He can't read Japanese.  I know this because he "wanted me to teach him."  So he's just looking at them.  Meanwhile, I'm left going, "WTF??" to myself because I was using those, hello??

Can you imagine if you walked up to someone doing homework--someone you didn't know very well--and grabbed up their textbook while they were working?  They'd punch you in the face, right?  I bet they would.  They should, at least.

I wanted to punch him in the face.  I truly did.  Except he's about 3x my size and that would probably not go very well.  I've even told him at this point that it annoys me when people bother me while I'm doing stuff.  All he took this to mean is that he can bother me all he likes as long as I'm not writing in my notebook.  If the notebook is out but I'm not actually writing in it?  Fair game.  If I'm doing something that looks like it's NOT writing (as in, writing a story), then I'm fair game.

I'm already at this point where I'm not sure I can continue on with this job.  It's really killing me physically.  But to deal with this obnoxiousness on top of that is just icing.  I'm giving up all my time in my day to the gubmint, and then Some Guy steals the rest.

2 comments: