I hadn't been to Hobby Lobby in almost seven years. I don't remember the last time I went, but chances are good that it was either late 2006 or early 2007, and then I spent the next several years in Japan and Hawaii. No Hobby Lobby. Not even a Michael's. Tokyo has Okadaya, which is pretty good for things like fabric or yarn ... but it's still no Hobby Lobby.
With my current situation it's kind of a pain in the butt to go to the HL if I want to do anything else with my trip. Or buy anything. When you don't have a car you have to make sure you don't buy anything too big or bulky, and then if you want to buy something kind of heavy you can't, say, go grocery shopping afterwards. I walked in, made a few laps, found a bajillion things I wanted to buy, and left without anything. I could have easily spent $500 if I had a car. And $500.
I found myself wanting to buy all kinds of decorative crap to use for photos. Owls and clocks and wire dressforms, framed pictures, trunks, cabinets ... goodness. Fake foliage! Gates! $99.99 gates!!
Plant stands that look like little tables but are too heavy for me to even lift!
Oh my gosh, it was like a fantastic hobby wonderland.
Of course, once I have money I'll be going back. I think. And a car. And a day I can go, since Hobby Lobby is closed on Sundays and my days off include Sunday. Once these three stars align, random-ass decorative CRAP will be mine! Miiiiine! And now I have space for it!!
No comments:
Post a Comment