Monday, September 30, 2013

What do Republicans and the female body have in common?

They both have a way of shutting that whole thing down.

So you've probably heard that the government fell into a hole that our good friends across the aisle were busy digging for the last ... extended period of time.

I just want to let you know, since it's officially October 1st ...


I really don't like

all these fake blog views.

At all.

Sunday, September 29, 2013

I did a bad, bad thing.

So please support this blog.  Or if you arrived here from Youtube, please support that.

JUST SUPPORT ME, OKAY??

No, I didn't commit fraud or go to jail or something bad like that.  I just ... may have ... made a purchase ... and committed to buying something ... very ... large ... and doll-like.

By visiting this site and viewing my vids you are contributing.  And je t'appreshe.  (Which is my fake French way of saying that I appreciate you.)  I think I only make something like 20 cents a month, but every cent matters.  Oh yes.  Every cent.  O____O  (Going to take a lot of cents.)

It's going to take a year to pay it off anyway.  Whatev.

Why I Hate Dens of Anything

About ten years ago I first stumbled upon Den of Angels, a forum and resource for all things BJD.  It was a great place to look around, gather information, see owner photos and get in touch with other dolly people.

I thought.

Quickly I learned that I was not a "doll person."  "Doll people" were weird.  They were obsessed with yaoi and constantly positioning their boy dolls to butthump other boy dolls at meetups.  They talked about that BS of a concept, "bonding" (a.k.a. buyer's remorse with a cutesy name), they proudly displayed pictures of their sad Sharpie faceups and talked nonstop about how their dolls were their "OCs."  Because apparently they had no imagination without a doll to foist a character upon.


Thursday, September 26, 2013

Getting Rides

Someone at work is giving me a ride TO work (I still take the bus home).  He keeps trying to see how late he can leave and still get there on time.  I might have come off rude today saying that if he made me late I was just going to go back to taking the bus, but if there's one thing I can't stand it's BEING LATE.

He was all, "We still got there with 10 minutes to spare today."  AGH!!  How close do you want to cut it???  Sounds like he wants to get there with 5 minutes or less.  I understand not wanting to spend more time than you have to at work, but I also don't want to get my pay docked or start accumulating attendance points or something.

I'm considering just texting him to say I'm taking the bus again.  And losing those two hours of my day again.

I think I'll do that.

All the Ladies Know

Yep.  Ladypeople know what I'm talking about here.  If you're not a ladyperson then you may not appreciate what I'm about to say.

(It has to do with menstruation.  And vaginas.  And me.  You're warned.)


Monday, September 23, 2013

It's Good to Be a Regular

I take the night bus.  We have a pretty good system (if the alternative is having NO bus) where you call during the day to schedule a ride.  Then your driver shows up at the place you set, takes you to the place you scheduled earlier in the day, and you pay $2.  Cheaper than a cab (not that we have cabs really) and pretty safe.


Sunday, September 22, 2013

Strongarmed

It's always struck me as a bit sexist when I hear a woman complain about another woman's arms.

"Ew!  Her arms are so gross!  Look at the muscles!  Ewwww!"


Okay, I'll concede that female bodybuilders look a bit weird.  So do male bodybuilders.  I can't say, "female bodybuilders don't look like women" because male bodybuilders don't look especially male either.  They look like caricatures of human beings.  Or aliens.  Or something.  Maybe it's the tanning.  And the shininess.  And the veins.


I was good.

I kept holding off, trying to NOT buy that doll.

I did not buy it with a goat.
I did not buy it on a boat.
Not in a car nor on a wall,
I did not cave and buy that doll.

I finally looked on Dollmore today and Lumie was sold out.  So I can wait for the next version to come out and hopefully it'll be cheaper.  Until then I can save a little money up too, and see how much extra cash I have lying around after all the bills (and looooooans coming up) are paid.  

I hope the next one has a similar faceup, but I can take or leave the blushing and fantastical outfits.  Faceup, wig, simple outfit and a carrier is all I neeeeeeed.  (Are you listening, Dollmore?)


Saturday, September 21, 2013

HOBBY LOBBY HOBBY LOBBY HOBBY LOBBY ...

I hadn't been to Hobby Lobby in almost seven years.  I don't remember the last time I went, but chances are good that it was either late 2006 or early 2007, and then I spent the next several years in Japan and Hawaii.  No Hobby Lobby.  Not even a Michael's.  Tokyo has Okadaya, which is pretty good for things like fabric or yarn ... but it's still no Hobby Lobby.

With my current situation it's kind of a pain in the butt to go to the HL if I want to do anything else with my trip.  Or buy anything.  When you don't have a car you have to make sure you don't buy anything too big or bulky, and then if you want to buy something kind of heavy you can't, say, go grocery shopping afterwards.  I walked in, made a few laps, found a bajillion things I wanted to buy, and left without anything.  I could have easily spent $500 if I had a car.  And $500.

I found myself wanting to buy all kinds of decorative crap to use for photos.  Owls and clocks and wire dressforms, framed pictures, trunks, cabinets ... goodness.  Fake foliage!  Gates!  $99.99 gates!!

Plant stands that look like little tables but are too heavy for me to even lift!

Oh my gosh, it was like a fantastic hobby wonderland.

Of course, once I have money I'll be going back.  I think.  And a car.  And a day I can go, since Hobby Lobby is closed on Sundays and my days off include Sunday.  Once these three stars align, random-ass decorative CRAP will be mine!  Miiiiine!  And now I have space for it!!

No, Seriously ...

Don't Be That Guy.

I don't get how hard it is to not act like a 4-year-old with ADD, apparently.

The guy at work is trying to break the bounds of annoyitude, and I'm at work so I can't cause a scene.  First it was walking up to me, sitting right in front of me, and shaking the table when I wouldn't acknowledge him.  Next it was jamming his finger in my notebook and tapping it.

My brother asked me to translate some Robotech article for him, and since I really don't have time to do anything, I took it to work.  I printed out the pages, took my iPad and notebook, and worked on it before training started.

So this guy walks up, seeeeeees that I'm busy with this stuff, and starts predictably with, "What are you doing?"  The million questions have begun.

He sits down in front of me, as per usual, which is just NOT enough distance in my opinion.  Then he reaches across the table, picks up the pages I've printed, and starts to look them over.  He can't read Japanese.  I know this because he "wanted me to teach him."  So he's just looking at them.  Meanwhile, I'm left going, "WTF??" to myself because I was using those, hello??

Can you imagine if you walked up to someone doing homework--someone you didn't know very well--and grabbed up their textbook while they were working?  They'd punch you in the face, right?  I bet they would.  They should, at least.

I wanted to punch him in the face.  I truly did.  Except he's about 3x my size and that would probably not go very well.  I've even told him at this point that it annoys me when people bother me while I'm doing stuff.  All he took this to mean is that he can bother me all he likes as long as I'm not writing in my notebook.  If the notebook is out but I'm not actually writing in it?  Fair game.  If I'm doing something that looks like it's NOT writing (as in, writing a story), then I'm fair game.

I'm already at this point where I'm not sure I can continue on with this job.  It's really killing me physically.  But to deal with this obnoxiousness on top of that is just icing.  I'm giving up all my time in my day to the gubmint, and then Some Guy steals the rest.

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Don't Be That Guy

So this is a little social etiquette lesson for the menfolk.

And before the MRAs all come in with their faces purple and fists shaking, no, I'm not talking to EVERY GUY.

Just the guys who do this.

If you don't do this?  Fantastic!  Your parents learned ya good!

If you are one of the folks I'm talking about, then that's good too!  You now have NO EXCUSE to continue this behavior because you know it's fucking irritating!

Great!  Let's move on ...


Sunday, September 15, 2013

Did I Mention I Have a Job?

I do have a job.  It's a "temp" job, but so was my last job (which I did for almost two years).  I'm working in a call center, and right now we're just learning how to do everything correctly.  After a month of training we will actually get to take actual calls.

It's not a bad gig if you can get it and keep it.  They're hiring probably 100 or more people for a perceived need, but if that need doesn't actually exist, they'll probably let a bunch of us go.  Exceptional folks may end up staying on as regular employees, but that's an if/maybe.  We do make $13/hr. plus a bit extra if we work late in the evening, and there are health/dental/vision benefits.  So, like I said, not a bad gig at all.

Except.

(There's always an "except.")


Someone in Korea Stole My Face

I like drawing the characters in my book to help me get an idea of what they all look like and better imagine the scenes in my head.  A year ago (my computer says it was 9/11/12) I drew a picture of Dolores Dresden, deceased wife and partner of asshole vampire hunter extraordinaire Dirk Dresden.  Here she is:


That's just how I envisioned her.  Sort of cute and sweet, with a round nose and big, innocent eyes.

 Fast forward to two days ago when I first went to the Dollmore website to look for doll accessories.  I happened to find myself looking at their Trinity line, and I fell in love with this doll immediately.  Love at first sight.  DOLL NEED NOW WANT kind of a thing.

I didn't really make the connection until a day later.