Sunday, February 23, 2014

When your immune system has it in for you ...

I don't get sick much, and being on immunosuppressants hasn't really changed that.  They say that your immune system will be weakened, but this assumes you had a normal immune system to begin with.  Mine is like a white guy in Florida surrounded by black kids with hoodies and boom boxes that are blasting rap music.  It's so paranoid that it sees danger everywhere and attacks whatever it sees.  I can only imagine that it runs out of actual pathogens and just starts looking for something else to fuck up.

The only exception to this "don't get sick much" seems to be whenever I move to a new place, so I've now had two bad colds since November, complete with congestion, green goo, and a good week or so of hacking up my own lungs until I gag.  It's been swell.

The extra fun thing has been this weird rash on my hands.  The doctor says it's eczema, although it's been fairly mild--just a handful of spots on one hand and a bit in the web between two fingers on the other--so he just gave me a cream to slap on it and called it a day.  One hand has been getting better, but the other one has been getting worse.  Eczema, like so many of the things wrong with me, is auto-immune business, which means that instead of dealing with this COLD FROM HELL, my immune system has been going after the skin on my hands.

Dude.  Like ... what?  Have you been ignoring all the green crap coming out of my lungs?  Do you not hear me coughing and snorfling and sneezing?  Don't you think your work would be best performed elsewhere?

Too bad I can't order my leukocytes around like little soldiers and get them to march, march, march where they need to be.

And now that the weather is going to get butt-ass cold again, which means spending a lot of time outside freezing.  Cold weather suppresses the immune system and facilitates the spread of viruses for science-y reasons (<--not a scientist) so that hasn't helped either.  (That and spending all that time on the bus.)

I just wonder if we can have normal temperatures by the time the clock skips ahead again.  And believe me, I am looking forward to that extra daylight.  Very much looking forward.   

4 comments:

  1. The weekend already? Time is moving so fast Senpai.
    A bad thing in my case. I'm in one of those, "recent unforeseen developments have forced us to take action, we must accelerate our plans" type situations. I hope you're all better now. I'm in need of your Dollfie expertise once again.

    I'll be doing some 3D Dollfie printing and I need some references for the design. What I have in mind is a slight modification of my favorite design, the Dollfie Dream Saber, with an open mouth. Not anime style full inverted triangle but something a bit more subtle. I don't imagine this topic would be well received on any of the Dollfie forums (KOITSU! YOU VILLAIN!), I need Kyo.

    This is it, the Dollfie I've been dreaming of. How about it? Do you know of any pretty open mouth designs?

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm guessing you mean more of an anime mouth even if you don't want the typical triangle? There are some open-mouth designs that come to mind, but they're all the sort of "lips slightly parted" and more realistic styles.

    http://www.dollmore.net/shop/step1.php?number=11830&b_code=B20120910103513

    Like that one.

    Maybe this one is more of a compromise between "open mouth anime" and the one above:

    http://dec712241.gdreamweb.com/shop/step1.php?number=7149&b_code=B20101202056360

    ReplyDelete
  3. Harder than I thought to get it right Senpai. I'm looking for a bit of a happier expression. The excited look in the eyes, the slight grin, it looks like it's just about to open it's mouth and say something or start singing some J-pop. I want to get that moment.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Kyolicious, Tell me you're still alive.

    ReplyDelete