Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Dudes

This is your cynical Valentine's Day post.

It's a little early.  I figure you'll all be too busy shagging and boozing on Friday, so I might as well get this in now:

When I was 5-6 I had lots of male friends.  Then I left that school and went to a school where girls DEFINITELY had cooties, and I spent years wishing I had male friends to play with.  Street Fighter, X-Men and Ninja Turtles aren't strictly "boy stuff" obviously, but I  didn't know any other girls who had more than a passing knowledge of them.  The boys around me became very conflicted, since it's sort of like meeting a talking dog.  She likes what we like!  But she's a girl!  Should I be friends with her?  Or hate her?  I CAN'T DECIDE!!


In the end, they decided not to be my friends.  Oh well. 

Fast forward to college, where I reached a certain age and suddenly had too much of the wrong kind of male attention.  Which maybe some women like or want, but I still just wanted to play video games and hang out.  ("Hang out" is not a euphemism for anything sexy in this usage.)  Once again I was put in this position where gender roles and ideas about men and women and sexuality fuck everything up.  First it was girls being stupid and having cooties (girls are good for nothing), and then we were just good for sex.  Oh sure, maybe they liked being around me and talking and all that shit, but once they were sexually rejected, the friendships fizzled.

And now I'm just wary of any straight guy who seems to want to be my friend, because I'm worried he'll start to get handsy.  Or creepy.  That's happened a lot too.  Some guys just don't take rejection well ...  

I think I still believe that men and women can be friends without playing bedroom Plinko together.    I have more than a handful of gay guy friends who aren't interested in my pantaloons, which is nice, but I wish I didn't have to rely on someone having a specific sexual orientation in order to feel comfortable around someone of the opposite sex.  Shit.

So I'm still just looking for someone who wants to play video games and hang out.  And I don't think that's ever going to happen.   

 

5 comments:

  1. Hello Lizard Queen,

    I am a fan of your blog and like listening to you complain about things on your blog. However, I would like to try to inspire you to think differently about meeting Prince Video Games Only.

    The chance of meeting a guy who just likes playing video games and hanging out is not 0. There is always hope. Maybe a guy down at an arcade is really into Mortal Kombat and is hoping to meet someone who loves the game as much as he does.

    The choices we make in life take us closer and pushes us away from the people we want to meet. I'm sure if you put up posters, put up advertisements in newspapers and made it your life's goal to find a guy who just wants to play video games and hang out, in 10 years time, I'm certain you could do it.

    Though it might be hard to find that person in the midst of billions of non-interconnected people, and you might have to create an opportunity for that person to exist, it is not beyond belief that you may just be lucky enough to meet a guy who just likes video games and nothing else during your lifetime.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Okay, cool, my own blog ate my reply.

    No one said he should "just like video games only and nothing else." That would make for a boring friend. My straight female friends have varied interests. My gay male friends have varied interests. My lesbian friends have varied interests. And none of those interests include "my pants." No one said (not even in this post) that we're looking for any sort of prince, and it looks like you're falling into that same trap of thinking that if I hang out with a straight dude, it has to be a romantic type of thing. Or that it's weird to think that a guy would want to be friends with a female person without getting some on the side.

    Which isn't true. It just also isn't my experience.

    (And Mortal Kombat? Pffft. Who plays THAT game anymore?)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh Blogger. I hate you. Seriously. No chocolate for you.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank God Senpai. You got me. I was this close to smashing my computer and ordering a very painful and bloody valentines day hit. Although to be fair to that guy this really does sound like white knight bait, "I'm full of shit, i'm not asexual at all! I've been living lonely longing all my life just for a man who understands me! *Sob Sob Sob* All I want is to be with a video game obsessed Otaku!" Should have saved that one for April Fools Day. Platonic relationship with a straight man? Can't be done, you're dreaming Kyo XD. Maybe if he was asexual too. IDK. =S

    The cinnamon hearts and chocolate have me up early for work today. Did you see Gackt's new Valentines day song video? That's also good for a laugh. Dammit GTG now... until this weekend.

    P.S. Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat? Hit the arcade! Gundam Extreme Versus!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh, it can be done. But I think it takes very specific kinds of people. (Like, people who don't feel entitled to pussy from their friends, people who respect their marriage vows, and people who respect you as a human being.) I know people with friends of the opposite sex who can hang out without getting kinky or making it weird, but it seems like a hard thing to do. If I mention a male friend to my mom, she assumes we're dating, fucking, or he's lusting after me. Most of my male friends anymore are gay, so ...

    Didn't see ... anything Gackt has done probably in the last four years, to be honest.

    And we don't have any arcades. :/ Sad but true. I guess home systems finally killed them. It also doesn't help that arcades are usually found in malls, and there's no mall here either. I looked up one mall about a half hour away and they have an arcade that's mostly the types of games you play for prizes, and then a lot of bemani games and ... Pacman.

    Yes, Pacman. And Galaga. And Centipede. Which were fine when I was 5 years old, but ...

    ReplyDelete