Saturday, February 8, 2014

Defective Pizza

I bought an Udi's frozen pizza at Walmart the other day.  It was $6, and they're usually $8, so I didn't really hesitate.  Yeah, it's steep for a frozen pizza, but they're pretty good.  And you feel a bit more comfortable with the frozen pizzas produced by companies that regularly deal with gluten free stuff than you do dealing with your Minsky's or other pizza parlor that promises gluten free crust. 

So I got my pizza.  Took it home.  Put it in the freezer.  All that good stuff you do when buying a frozen pizza.

Today felt like a pizza day, so I preheated my oven and got out my pizza.  Now, these pizzas strongly recommend putting them right on the oven rack.  I can tell you from experience that this is the best way to go about it, if possible.  They don't quite cook right otherwise.  And because you're putting it right on the oven rack, you want to be a little careful with anything that's hanging over the edge.  That is, the sauce and cheese that comes up right to the edge might drip or fall off, so I always pick off the bits that are hanging over and put them on the top.

I picked at a little bit of cheese and sauce at the edge of my pizza and the whole fucking layer of sauce and cheese popped off the crust.  And broke, of course.  So I had pieces of sauce + cheese that had basically become a puzzle on top of my pizza, and instead of putting a couple of bits of cheese in a safer location, I was trying to make sure that the sauce/cheese wasn't going to fall off entirely when I put the thing in the oven.

Often when I bake these in the oven, the edges of the pie will droop down, and sure enough I saw a big ol' cheese chunk at the bottom of the oven where it had just slid right off.  I'm not sure what happened to this pizza, since I handled it exactly the way I always handle them, and I probably eat these 1-2 times per month (too expensive, but I eat them fairly regularly regardless).  It's not like I did something stupid with it, or this is just "what they do."  My pizza was defective.  Majorly defective. 

It was still tasty, but I think when I pay $6 for a frozen pizza I expect it to "work properly."  (I'd be more pissed if I'd paid the $8 "suggested retail" price.)

Now I need to pick wads of burned cheese off the bottom of the oven.  :(

2 comments:

  1. Oh Senpai, thank goodness you're alive! I just had the most horrific nightmare --three times in a row!

    I went to bed restlessly last night thinking something must have happened to you since usually you're so quick to reply. I dreamt waking up, checking your blog and reading a post that one of your parents passed away! I was awoken from the shock! After I had recovered and returned to sleep the second nightmare began... I dreamt waking up, checking your blog and to my surprise finding a whole bunch of other comments. The comments were from your friends and family paying their respects, saying you had died (OH GOD NOOOOO!)! Once again, I was awoken from the shock and after I recovered I went back to bed for one final dream... I dreamt waking up, turning on my computer and checking your blog. I recognized the dream, I knew in my heart it would be something horrible so with all my will, I forced myself awake and aborted the dream.

    It's a relief to find you here this morning safe and sound talking about pizza. =] I shouldn't read your blog before going to bed. XD

    I wanted to ask you before we started another week; what's your favorite Gackt song and what was it about it that you liked? No Malice Mizer! Sorry Kyo but I don't know much of them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've certainly had dreams like that. Waking up in a panic because you think someone died or been injured, checking your phone and/or email to make sure you didn't get any messages while you were asleep. Right now I'm fine except for the stupid snow that's coming down again. Snow, snow, go away, come again next December. (It doesn't rhyme, but it's how I feel.)

    I'm not sure about one single favorite Gackt song. With Dir en grey I know exactly which one is my favorite, but with Gackt I like so many of them equally. If I have to choose some that stand out, I think Mizerable is near the top. It was one of the first Gackt songs I heard, and it's early enough that it still has that Malice Mizer flavor of rock + classical. Birdcage is also nice--I like how it starts quiet and slow and then doesn't really speed up, but builds in intensity.

    In karaoke I like to sing Jesus. It's short and doesn't go too low for me to sing comfortably. Ha. (I have a few karaoke staples Gackt-wise where I can either change octaves easily or stay in one octave. Gackt's voice is just too low for me.)

    ReplyDelete