Friday, January 10, 2014

Cropped Pants

I never understood this fashion phenomenon.  Either wear pants or shorts, but don't compromise.  (Capris are stupid too, but this is about cropped pants only.)

Back at Banana we had tons of cropped or "ankle" pants.  These are pants that, as you might guess, come to your ankle.  They're "high waters," in other words.  I tried ours on and found that the regular length was about 1/2 an inch too short for me to have them pass as regular pants.  But then they were also too long to look like crops.  So I just wound up looking like I was too tall for my pants.  And mine was a common problem.  Sometimes the shorter customers could get away with using a pair as regular straight-leg pants, but many fell into my issue of not really having the proper "petite" rise, but needing that petite length.

Now, you might say, "Duh!  Alterations!"  Yes, we did alterations.  But that takes time, requires having your pants sent off, no instant gratification, what if it's still wrong, etc.  And then there's the problem of shoes, since the length you need is going to differ if you wear heels vs. flats.  With a crop you're straddling that very fine line between "weirdly short pants" and "weirdly long crops," which can be a problem if you want to wear both kinds of shoes.

The shoe thing is a huge problem.  Sometimes with a longer crop you can wear a flat and get away with it, acting like it's just a normal pant.  But then you sit down and it hikes up to your lower calf, and you wish you'd shaved a little higher that morning.  (By the way, that was the other thing I hated--shaving my ankles to wear a pair of pants.  I know for a fact I'm not the only woman who avoids shaving anything that's not being seen.)  You might have better luck with any length when wearing heels, though if it's slightly too short then you probably end up looking like you bought pants for children or had them shrink in the wash.

I told you, it's a fine line.  The models kind of get away with it because they have long, thin legs.  If your figure is curvier (and this is not a euphemism for "fat," though it also applies if you're fat) or if you have short legs, you have to do a lot more to make your legs look longer.  Which means you don't want a lot of skin showing under your hem.  Too high of a crop can make you look shorter.  Heels will help, but not if you're 4'11" or have a wider frame.

And your shoe options suck.  I hate wearing shoes without socks.  Hate.  There is something very uncomfortable to me about the sweaty feeling of foot against shoe, and I need that barrier, whether it's a sock or tights.  I own a lot of boots, but I own some flats as well, and generally I'm wearing those flats with dresses and tights.  With crops you can't wear socks unless you're 85 and you don't give a fuck.  Fashion dictates that you wear a flat or a heel.  You might be able to do a boot, but that's going to depend on the boot and on how tapered the pant is.

I don't remember tons of people liking the crops.  I remember a lot of women complaining that they didn't want a crop.  They just wanted a pair of pants.  A lot of the shorter women tried to make the regular length crop into a straight leg pant, and many succeeded.  But very few were thrilled with that inch of pant missing.

So here's hoping that everyone gets their heads on straight and gives us our extra inch of fabric.  But I don't really have a lot of faith, considering how they keep trying to push and push and push all those damn skinny jeans on us.  (The solution to the skinny jean is a long, boxy blazer, btw.  JMO.)


4 comments:

  1. Are you busy this weekend Senpai? That weekends to myself recuperating thing still going on? I'm incredibly lazy and bored lately. I haven't found a new hobby since completing my winter knitting project. I have a new hobby every couple of months, gain some skill, then get bored and move on. I have a headache all the time and for the first time in my life, I can't even think of anything cool to buy =,[. What a great way to begin the new year!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Not especially busy, though I have a few things I need to do. Today I had a horribly failed grocery shopping expedition, and that was about all I did today.

    I wind up pretty limited on what I can do here since there are no buses on Sunday and the buses that run on Saturday finish at about 7:00. They only come once an hour, so it gets hard to plan any kind of outing. That's why I wind up spending most of my weekend time (apart from grocery shopping) at home. I wish there were a mall here so I could at least wander around. Lately I just wind up cooking a lot and playing on the Wii.

    It's hard to sink into new hobbies. Maybe you just need some inspiration? But that's also hard to come by, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Such a shame. I feel as though my life is so mundane. Like I should be working towards some goal and serving a greater purpose but instead I'm cycling through random hobbies just to kill time. It just occurred to me now, how peculiar Senpai... Very strange indeed. I never thought about these things before until now, 0.0 That's really weird.

    Awww Nintendo Wii =D. It's been years since I last played a game! What's it called? XD

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yeah, I think I do the same thing these days, not really creating anything interesting but just doing things because it's better than sleeping all day. There are a lot of things I *want* to be doing, but finding the motivation to do them is difficult. I don't know if the weather is cold where you are, but maybe once it's nicer outside things will change. Maybe I'm just being optimistic.

    I don't really own a lot of Wii games, so I cycle through the regular sports/resort pack, Capcom vs. Tatsunoko, and House of the Dead. Last weekend I got Wii Fit and a board used for $25, so I've been playing that all week since I can't really afford to sign up for a gym or anything like that right now. At least it's something that gets me moving.

    I really should be working on rewrites. I really need to take a trip to somewhere far into the French countryside, with no TV or internet. Of course, then I'd probably fall asleep or stare at walls or something instead of writing.

    ReplyDelete