Monday, May 5, 2014

Dolly Racist

Back in the day--wayyyyy back when I first got into BJDs--there was Volks and there were a few Korean joints like Custom House and Luts. 

Now there are 80 bajillion BJD companies, 70 bajillion of which have been deemed "off topic" by the Den of Angels moderators.

I digress.

In the beginning I liked "pretty" and "cute" dolls.  I still like those, but lately I've been drawn in more by "unique" dolls.  Fantasy dolls, anthro dolls, and dolls with weird (but artistic) faces. 

No, not squooshy and weird Bobobie-type of faces that just look cheap and badly-sculpted.  I mean more like a really stylized face, or an interesting expression.  Just something unusual, but in a good way.  Even the very realistic Iplehouse sculpts would fall into this category.  Something outside the bishounen/anime aesthetic.

Recently I discovered Doll Chateau.  And I kind of want them all.

I love their peculiar bodies, which are emaciated and yet curvy, with multiple neck joints and long, skinny limbs.  I love Stacy and Chrstina's "starving model" type faces.  I love Elizabeth's spider body.  I love Lydia's wide-set eyes and I love how Queena is dressed up like a duck.  There's a Siamese twin body, a centaur-ish body that somehow reminds me of Human Centipede, and there's a ... I ... I'm not sure what this is.  I think she might have a mutant bee for a head. 


One of them has my name.  I don't want her because she has my name, but I'm glad she does because she's fucking awesome

(You might notice that I linked to Doll Chateau and then linked to a bunch of pages on Mint On Card.  This is because Doll Chateau lives in 1997 and their website is sloooooowwwww.)

I don't need more dolls, but ... ohhhhhh dolls.  I love dolls. 

No comments:

Post a Comment