Full disclosure--I'm not a religious person. I'm not spiritual either. That sort of thing is not a part of my life because I don't care to make it a part of my life. Or ... I just don't care. That's the long and short of it. When it comes to religion or spirituality, I don't care. Be a good person. Do good deeds. The invisible man you pray to really shouldn't enter into anything you do outside of church because you should always be a good person regardless, be kind to others, and help out those who can't help themselves.
I don't need the threat of Santa Claus filling my stocking with coal in order to be a nice person. (In other words.)
There are several reasons why this fabricated "War on Christmas" annoys me.
1. You're supposed to be a nice person. The types of people who complain about saying "Happy Holidays" are the types of people who think they're so much nicer and better-er-er than everyone because of the invisible man they worship and the manner in which they worship him. It's been a while since I've stepped into a church, but I'm pretty sure that the big long book that this invisible man supposedly wrote tells you to be kind and humble and whatnot. Something about turning the other cheek and doing your prayers in private.
Deliberately antagonizing and excluding people by saying "Merry Christmas," or worse, getting mad when people say "Happy Holidays" is exactly the opposite of everything you are supposed to be. In church we used to sing this stupid hymn about, "And they'll know we are Christians by our love," but nowadays we know you're Christians because you're whining that not everyone worships in the same way you do.
2. Here in America Christmas is a "bank holiday." Kids get off from school and a lot of adults don't have to go in to work. (I get both Christmas and Christmas Eve off.) Then about a week later there's this other holiday. Something about a "year" or a "new" something ... anyway, a lot of people get the day off then too, or get to leave work early the night before. Two holidays just a week apart? By golly, maybe we should say "Happy Holidays" instead of "Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!" It would be shorter!
But no, people are mad because non-Christian holidays might get covered in there too. I'm not sure when "Happy Holidays" stopped meaning "there's more than one holiday this time of year," but I guess it did. Because O'Reilly said so.
3. Something like 80% of the country is Christian. And I bet of those who aren't, a good percentage still celebrate Christmas. Christmas is a fun holiday that doesn't have to be religious at all! Just look at Japan, where Santa, presents, cake and KFC are Christmas traditions, but church + Jesus are not. And you know what? Even if Christmas isn't a religious day (Jesus wasn't born that day anyway, guys), the sentiment and spirit of "goodness" can still be there. Family, spending time together, giving unto others, it's all there even when you take the "Christ" out of it and just celebrate "mas." I'm not religious, but I like Christmas and I celebrate Christmas. As a holiday of giving to others and appreciating the people around me, not a birthday.
No one is trying to take away Christmas. No one is trying to destroy Christmas. There are people who might not celebrate Christmas, and you know what? That's okay! I'm not offended by that! If your faith is so shaky that the idea of someone else not celebrating your holiday or practicing your religion upsets you, then perhaps you should sit down and do some real soul-searching. If saying "Happy Holidays" makes you want to punch someone, you should probably discuss that with both your spiritual leader and a therapist. Because that's not normal.
4. I shouldn't have to say this, but there were these people once who lived in a place where the majority religion was all, "You guys need to do shit the way we say," and they said, "No, we don't want any part of your religious weirdness!" and they ran off across an ocean. Get where I'm going with this? (And best to repeat that thing about praying in a room by yourself, too.) Just because you're the majority religion and just because a vast majority celebrate Christmas doesn't mean that you get to shove your religion down anyone's throat (or pretend you're being oppressed). It all goes back to that whole "be nice" thing I mentioned before.
Anyway, Happy Holidays to most of you.
And for the assholes, Merry Christmas. No Happy New Years for you, since you insist on it.
No comments:
Post a Comment